stop taking pride in being too busy. enough already.

Friends, there are a few of you that I am worried about.

Then of course i worry about worrying which is beside the point and a topic of conversation for a whole other blog post. Do me a fave and remind me of that later K?

Anyway, what was i saying? oh yeah, Those friends whose behaviour has been concerning me. Really folks its this big fat glorification of busy that has me shaking my head and my fist. Listen, some of you really need to slow down. Ya’ll need to hear this: you aren’t here to work till you drop. I just cant see the point of this entire thing we call the universe solely existing for the purpose of how many hours you can work in a week come home feed the kids take em to playgroup, soccer, hockey band camp, tuba lessons, swim class, zoomba fit, power yoga, spend all your money on a boosted juice (cause the bitches cost a lot, are you kidding me I’m not working an hour for a damn juice) tick tocko punch the clocko  cant do anything cause all your time is spent making money and all your money is spent making up for the lost time YOU CANT BUY BACK TIME. Once its done its done. So here is the bottom line, I’m watching you all run around in this crazy race, doing the look at me dance. The “heres a list of the 10 bajillion things i did this week to fill the void that knows deep down that this isn’t what life is all about but validate how valuable i am based on my level of exhaustion, did you know i make my own fucking cheese while working 13 jobs and raising 8 kids and i have 3 cats and two dogs and volunteer at the old folks home 10 days a weeeeeeeeek” JUST STOPPIT. You know the only time y’all slow down is when you get sick, the only time you allow yourselves to rest is when youre so run down that your body turns on you and then and only then will you curl up in a huddled ball of snot and relax. and you know what? i know half of you cant even not feel guilty about doing nothing EVEN THEN. Little rat brain all a scurry. So lets cultivate the art of doing nothing. I don’t mean do nothing all the time. But sheesh people give yourselves a break, you deserve it. You haven’t sat down for five minutes completely silently to yourself for months. Start there. Go to your bedroom, get in your car and drive to the middle of nowhere, hide in your back yard, stand in your goddamned closet if thats where you have to start, and take 5 fucking minutes to do nothing but breathe. Heres what you’re going to do, set a timer and for 5 minutes breathe in to the count of four and out to the count of five. Do that for one week. And for chris sake if you cant commit to giving yourself heaven forbid 5 minutes a day for one week, just start with today. go do it. right now. Let me say it again, you deserve it. Can you feel me? I hope so. Because I care about you. Thanks for reading ❤

 

P.S. Heres a poem.

Ode to J.Livingston Seagull

you’ve  mistaken my intention

I am rising

up and out of this

glitter clatter

out from under the glare

of these false sunshines

out of from under

this constant barrage of constant

up and into

the sweet thin air

where i can breathe

where my companions

the inaudible stars

wait to greet me

with offerings of solitude

and sanctuary

I am rising

preparing

to soar

Leave a Reply

